Chapter Four – I Love Him

We started Kindergarten that fall, and our schedules separated the threesome for most of the day. Danny was assigned to a morning class, and Peter and I attended in the afternoon. Thankfully, we still had time to be with each other during our Wednesday afternoon Primary sessions.

As the children entered the chapel on the first Wednesday after school started, Danny greeted me with a big hug and a kiss on the cheek. I smiled and blushed as we found some empty seats on the third row.

“I miss you,” he whispered.

Our leaders welcomed us, a girl prayed, and then singing time started. First, we sang “Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes.” At the conclusion of the song, Danny gave me another quick kiss on the cheek. Somebody behind us laughed. The next song was “Do As I’m Doing,” and we all followed the movements of the leader in the front of the room. Danny kissed my cheek again, but this one lasted a little longer.

“We should do something about that,” a woman whispered.

“They’re just kids,” another woman responded, “it doesn’t mean anything.”

We started another song, “Little Purple Pansies,” and I tried to sing the best I could in between giggles. Before the song ended, Danny turned, puckered his lips, and gave me the wettest, loudest kiss I had ever experience up to that point in my life. The singing stopped.

“Do we need to separate you two boys?” the woman leading the music asked.

Both of us giggled some more, and other children in the room joined us.

“Nick,” the woman said. “I need you to trade places with Colin.”

Nick stood up, and I slid into the spot where he was sitting.

“And you, young man,” the chorus leader said to Danny. “I don’t want to see you kissing any more boys.”

“I’m sorry,” Danny replied. “But I love that boy. I just love him!”

Most of the children in the room laughed.

“That’s fine,” the chorus leader said. “But boys don’t express their love by kissing each other. A firm handshake will do.”

She concluded the singing time, and we were dismissed to go to our different classes. Some of the older kids pointed and laughed as Danny and I walked out of the room.

“Can you believe those two?” I heard one of the Primary teachers whisper. “Their behavior is absolutely unacceptable.”

“You worry too much,” another woman replied. “They are just kids. Besides, I think it’s adorable to see a boy so open about his feelings for his friend.”

Published by

M. McMann

I am a writer, an artist, an athlete, a brother. I have the crazy dream of making my part of the world a better place. I like to do kind things in secret and observe the joy I bring into other people's lives. I can't stand seeing others being treated unjustly. I hate the direction our government is taking this country. Since when did taking care of those who can't take care of themselves become evil? Everybody deserves to be treated with dignity, and I think we all appreciate when someone else has offered to lift us up. I am your neighbor. I am Mystery McMann.

One thought on “Chapter Four – I Love Him”

Leave a Reply

