Waiting

I will tell you the truth, I expected to come home from work today and hear about a monumental decision declared by the United Supreme Court. It didn’t happen, so I guess I will have to wait until Thursday. I am tired of waiting.

While I want a decision made now, I am still mixed on what I want their ruling to be. I am torn between what the the LDS leaders say about the issue of gay marriage and having a ruling that will eventually lead to an end of the bigotry and hatred that I and millions of other men and women have endured because of our sexual orientation. Laws obviously won’t put an end to all of the hate, but it can accelerate people toward better understanding and healing.

 

I want to find someone who want to spend the rest of his life with me. I am at that point in life when I have accepted that that person should be a man. Right now in the United States, that cannot legally happen and allow me to follow my moral conviction of having such a relationship outside of marriage. I am ready for the nation, my community, and my church to allow me to enjoy that highest and holiest of relationships. It’s time.

Published by

M. McMann

I am a writer, an artist, an athlete, a brother. I have the crazy dream of making my part of the world a better place. I like to do kind things in secret and observe the joy I bring into other people's lives. I can't stand seeing others being treated unjustly. I hate the direction our government is taking this country. Since when did taking care of those who can't take care of themselves become evil? Everybody deserves to be treated with dignity, and I think we all appreciate when someone else has offered to lift us up. I am your neighbor. I am Mystery McMann.

Leave a Reply

